My first birdwatching trip

Last weekend (Nov 4 -6) was amazing and it was my first bird watching/photographing trip. Before I start with the trip itself, remember I spoke about my confusion on my gears(what to buy and what not to buy). Well, I finally settled with an used Canon EOS 40D and just before the trip I got myself a Sigma 150 500 APO HSM OS lens.This combination is awesome as 40D has some amazing ISO performance even at 1000+.

So, Now the trip.

Rather than a normal travelogue like boarding a bus, getting down there, boarding a car, getting wooed out by the sight and sounds of the jungle and reaching the resort…oops I mentioned all of them. This more of a note that I am writing about my first birding trip.

If you are still guessing, well…I went to Ganeshgudi, a beautiful jungle near the city of Belgaum in Karnataka.

Three days of ultimate awesomeness with some medium weighing gears and 12 hours of continuous walking, looking and photographing birds. I managed to record some 24 species of birds including some rare species like Malabar Trogon, Crested Goshawks and Great Horn bill(this was not recorded, all I could hear was the sound of its wing flaps..gives goose bump). My 40D went b0rked in the middle of the trip with its exposure and metering not working properly. So most of my photos were taken with an exposure compensation of -2.

Still some photos came out good and they are here

The only mammal I was able to spot and photograph was Malabar Giant Squirrel. the photo is here

So, my first birding trip with my new gear and some unexpected challenges that came out with it. I guess I am learning a lot more that I expected.

P.S : Please ignore grammatical errors and other minor mistakes.

3 thoughts on “My first birdwatching trip

  1. Hi Subhodip,
    just wanna ask did you use spot metering? It looks as though you used center-weighted metering on some of the shots (most noticable on the grey hornbill) making the hornbill underexposed. Was that intentional?
    From all the birds I really like how the grey hornbill looks.

    Happy shooting!

    • I use spot only when is pretty difficult to expose the subject. I wanted to use spot for the grey horn bill but my metering system died and I was stuck with the center weighted only. Does the pic looks too underexposed? I checked in in my Lenovo T400 (it looks pretty normal exposed) however in Mac and samsung display it is under exposed. So i cant figure out whether it is display issue or something with my pic.

  2. I think maybe the metering was the average of the total light in the center image (center of image may include tree leaves and some harsh light reflected by background objects) and since the hornbill was under the shade of the tree, it may look under exposed, Subhodip.
    Must be disappointing to be let down by the metering of your camera. Hope it doesn’t happen often.
    Right now i’m still learning to analyze the exposure of a scene I want to shoot compared to the exposure of a subject in focus, then making correction with the exposure value on the camera (thankfully the olympus om-2n has ev correction eventhough it IS an old camera). It’s important to get the right effects for example if I want to make a silhouette of people in front of hard light.
    Sorry if I write too much, it’s just relieving for me to dish out some thoughts.

Leave a Reply

